Nothing says “I’m worldly and well-traveled” like a great dinner of Seared Ahi Tuna with a side of Spanikopita. And by well-traveled, I mean: I drive to Trader Joe’s on one side of town to get the best frozen spanikopita ever AND I’ve frequented the Soulard Farmer’s Market down in, well, Soulard. It was a good dinner, nothing too fancy, no matter what the words “ahi tuna” sound like to you. I could, however, serve it to company, although I might skip the Grecian side dish and say consistent w/ an asian-y theme.

And, for the record, I didn’t just eat those two things. If I list them, will you promise to make them sometime? Because they are oh-so-good, and pretty easy.

Seared Sesame Ahi Tuna

I’ve only been to Florida once, and that was for a week between my freshman and sophomore year of college, but that trip introduced me to the wonders of seared-on-the-outside-raw-on-the-inside delicious, tender, pink shashimi-grade ahi. I know its pretty standard fare, but it was love at first bite for me, and I haven’t ever had anything as good since. So, I decided to replicate it, with a little help from a seafood vendor in the stalls of the farmers market, selling me vacum-packed steaklets of ahi.

You need:

1 Ahi Tuna Steak. (As mentioned, Shashimi grade. No wild ahi, no white ahi. Pink.)

Sesame seeds. (White, or black, OR both!)

Canola Oil

Hot Pan, hot stove.

Defrost the fish, pat dry with paper towels. Roll in Sesame seeds, and be sure to coat the sides as well as the top and the bottom. Coat a frying pan with the oil and get hot–to the point that a bit of water flicked in dances and sizzles. Throw that tuna in, and sear–quickly–on all sides. The Sesame seeds will get nice and toasted, and the outside will turn white. Cook to your preference, but be sure to get a nice little rim of cooked fish on the outside, so that it will warm the inside. Slice thinly (you will need a sharp, sharp knife) and dip into some soy sauce before eating.

Serve with a side of spanikopita. Or, spanikopita with some roasted soy/garlic asparagus and dry steamed basmati rice. Or eat by itself. Or, serve on a bed of mixed salad greens, if you are trying to impress someone. You can do what I did, and watch reality television while the rice was steaming, scooping green olives out of a jar with a spoon.

Lay offa’ me. I was starving.

